The Domain

Tiago Guedes

Portugal2020166 MinPortugiesisch

Untertitel: DE, EN, FR, IT, PL

Aus urheberrechtlichen Gründen ist dieser Film in Ihrem Land nicht verfügbar.

Film nicht verfügbar

Die Geschichte Portugals von den 1940er Jahren bis heute, geschildert am Auf und Ab eines riesigen Landguts am Südufer des Flusses Tejo. Regisseur Tiago Guedes und Produzent Paulo Branco haben mit dieser fein gezeichneten Familiensaga ein Werk geschaffen, das den großen Hollywood-Dramen in nichts nachsteht und anhand des Werdegangs eines reichen Grundbesitzers, der in seinem Größenwahn alles aufs Spiel setzt, das ihm etwas bedeutet, radikale Kritik an Patriarchat und männlicher Dominanz übt.

- Olivier Père, Leiter ARTE France Cinéma -

The Domain

(A Herdade)

„The Domain“ ist die Saga einer portugiesischen Familie, die zu den größten Grundbesitzern in Europa zählt. Anhand der Geschichte ihrer Ländereien am Südufer des Tejo entwickelt der Film eine historische, politische und soziale Perspektive auf das Leben in Portugal von den 1940er Jahren bis in die Gegenwart.

  • Venice IFF 2019
  • Toronto IFF 2019
  • Goya Awards 2020
  • Mit:  ALBANO JERÓNIMO, SANDRA FALEIRO, MIGUEL BORGES, JOÃO VICENTE, JOÃO PEDRO MAMEDE, ANA VILELA DA COSTA, RODRIGO TOMÁS, BEATRIZ BRÁS
  • Produktion:  LEOPARDO FILMES, ALFAMA FILMS PRODUCTION in association with CB PARTNERS, ANA PINHÃO MOURA PRODUÇÕES
  • Filmverleih:  ALFAMA FILMS

Eindrucksvolle Schilderung der Geschichte eines patriarchalisch geführten Landguts, das von innen und außen allmählich erodiert.

- Lee Marshall, Screen International -

Tiago Guedes

Tiago Guedes hat an der New York Film Academy studiert. Sein erster Spielfilm, „BLOOD CURSE“ (2005), bei dem er gemeinsam mit Frederico Serra Regie führte, wurde auf den Festivals von Sitges und Busan gezeigt. Der Spielfilm „NOISE“ (2008), den er ebenfalls gemeinsam mit Frederico Serra drehte, kam in die Auswahl verschiedener namhafter Festivals wie San Sebastián und Cartagena. „THE DOMAIN“ (2019) ist sein bislang ehrgeizigstes Projekt. Das Drehbuch entstand in Zusammenarbeit mit Rui Cardoso Martins.

‚The Domain‘ atmet die Stimmung zahlreicher Filme, die mir persönlich viel bedeuten. Filme, die in endlosen Weiten spielen, Western an gottverlassenen Orten mit rätselhaften Charakteren wie bei Sergio Leone oder Anthony Mann.

Download Unserer Apps

The Domain

Tiago Guedes

Portugal2020166 MinPortuguese

Subtitles: DE, EN, FR, IT, PL

Due to copyright, this film is not available in your country.

Unavailable

The history of Portugal from the 1940s to the present day, seen through the prism of a huge agricultural estate on the south bank of the Tagus river. An intimate fresco, a family saga worthy of the great Hollywood melodramas, the film by Tiago Guedes, produced by Paulo Branco, becomes a radical critique of patriarchy and male domination by showing the madness of a rich landowner, whose desire for power and taste for strength will be the cause of his loss and the dissolution of his most cherished possession.

- Olivier Père, Director of ARTE France Cinéma -

The Domain

(A Herdade)

The chronicle of a family that owns one of the largest estates in Europe, on the south bank of the River Tagus. The Domain delves deeply into the secrets of their homestead, portraying the historical, political, economic and social life of Portugal, since the 1940s, through the Carnation Revolution to these days.

  • Venice IFF 2019
  • Toronto IFF 2019
  • Goya Awards 2020
  • Starring:  ALBANO JERÓNIMO, SANDRA FALEIRO, MIGUEL BORGES, JOÃO VICENTE, JOÃO PEDRO MAMEDE, ANA VILELA DA COSTA, RODRIGO TOMÁS, BEATRIZ BRÁS
  • Production:  LEOPARDO FILMES, ALFAMA FILMS PRODUCTION in association with CB PARTNERS, ANA PINHÃO MOURA PRODUÇÕES
  • Distribution:  ALFAMA FILMS

A remarkable portrait of a patriarchal fiefdom gradually being eaten away from both outside and in.

- Lee Marshall, Screen International -

Tiago Guedes

Tiago Guedes graduated in Filmmaking from the New York Film Academy. His first feature film, BLOOD CURSE (2005), co-directed with Frederico Serra, played at festivals such as Sitges and Busan. The feature film NOISE (2008), also co-directed with Frederico Serra, was selected at several festivals including San Sebastián and Cartagena) THE DOMAIN (2019) is his most ambitious project, whose script was written in collaboration with Rui Cardoso Martins.

The universe of The Domain sends us back to several films I deeply love. Films of open spaces, westerns lost in the middle of nowhere with enigmatic characters who carry secrets, as in Leone’s and Anthony Mann’s films.

Download Our Applications